Oceania Ecological Forecasting Initiative

The Oceania Forecasting Initiative is a grassroots regional group of individuals from Australia, New Zealand, Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia interested in creating and using ecological forecasts.

The group is in the process of coordinating six calls related to the following topics. If you are interested in connecting to the group email info@ecoforecast.org.

Upcoming Calls

  1. Monday, 23 May – 3pm NSW/VIV/TAS time (1pm Perth, 3pm Brisbane, 2:30pm Darwin, 2:30pm Adelaide, 5pm NZ)
    1. Topic: Contributed talk(s) TBD and discussion on the topic (e.g.,ecological forecasting at a range of timescales)
  2. Monday, 27 June – 3pm NSW/VIV/TAS time (1pm Perth, 3pm Brisbane, 2:30pm Darwin, 2:30pm Adelaide, 5pm NZ)
    1. Topic: Data sources for ecological forecasting in Oceania
  3. Wednesday, 27 July (or 19 or 20 July?) – 3pm NSW/VIV/TAS time (1pm Perth, 3pm Brisbane, 2:30pm Darwin, 2:30pm Adelaide, 5pm NZ)
    1. Topic: Contributed talk(s) TBD and discussion on the topic (e.g., feedback loops in ecological forecasting)
  4. Tuesday, 30 August – 3pm NSW/VIV/TAS time (1pm Perth, 3pm Brisbane, 2:30pm Darwin, 2:30pm Adelaide, 5pm NZ)
    1. Topic: End-user needs for ecological forecasting in Oceania
  5. Tuesday, 18 October – 3pm NSW/VIV/TAS (12pm Perth, 2pm Brisbane, 1:30pm Darwin, 2:30pm Adelaide, 5pm NZ)
    1. Topic: TBD

Previous Calls

  1. Introductions, ecological forecasting in Oceania, and opportunities to participate as a community.
    Coordinators: Alistair Hobday, CSIRO; Belinda Medlyn, Western Sydney University; Glenda Wardle, Sydney University
    April 12, 2022
    1. Recording from the Call
    2. Miro Board which shows forecasting projects and interests of the group that met

Other Resources

Recording of March 2, 2022 Webinar Hosted by TERN: Forecasting Ecosystem Changes